30
Mar
11

My Day

I decided to write a post about what a day consists of for me. It changes–goes in cycles depending on when I’m sleeping. If I’m sleeping at night, my activities happen during the daytime and if I’m sleeping days, they happen in the evening/nighttime/early morning. LOL

4:00 a.m. I’m usually UP before this but not AWAKE until now. I usually spend time from about 2 a.m. until 4 a.m. waking up. This involves drinking a bunch of coffee and reading notifications/messages/group posts on Facebook. Or I play Solitaire on the computer.

4-6 a.m. I take my meds, drink more coffee, and eat breakfast. If I have to cook breakfast, that takes longer. If hubby cooks, I only spend about 1/2 hour doing that. I also take time during this period to toss over clothes from one machine to the other, and clean clothes to the dining room table for the owners to pick up and put away.

6:00 a.m. – 7 a.m.: I wake up my oldest, T (12 y.o.) for school during the week. I make sure he changes into CLEAN clothes (no sense showering just to put on dirty clothes, but this he does a lot). I check his breath/teeth to make sure he really brushed his teeth and didn’t just rinse with mouthwash. Make sure he has all his homework completed and put into his binder (we used to call them trapperkeepers). Then he eats a small snack to take with his medicine (synthroid and metformin). He makes his bed and brings out his dirty clothes. We then head to the bus stop a quarter mile away and then I come home for the next part.

7 a.m. to 8 a.m.: I wake up the youngest, Bboy (9 y.o.). I get him changed (I help dress him although he puts on his own socks now and mainly gets dressed on his own but I make sure it’s not on backwards and/or inside out). He brushes his teeth with my supervision. He does it on his own now but I make sure he’s actually touching his teeth with the brush otherwise, he won’t. He washes his face and hands (he takes baths at night). Then he eats a small snack and takes his medicine (also metformin). He plays on the computer after that. And then at 7:45 a.m. I take him to the driveway and wait for his bus which usually arrives at 8 a.m. but sometimes is early if one of the kids that gets picked up before him doesn’t attend that day. But we have to be out there as we never know when the bus will come early/late and she will leave without honking if we’re not out there.

8 a.m. to 9 a.m.: I watch Steve Wilkos. It’s my connection to the bizarre that reminds me that life is not that bad. It could be a whole lot worse~!

9 a.m.: I make phone calls to various doctors, therapists, nurses, school, agencies, etc that I may need to make. Sometimes I even call a friend! Usually call Pops and he’s out on his daily walk LOL.

10 a.m. I switch over the laundry and put away clean clothes that no one else put away from the day before 🙂

11 a.m.: I go to bed because I’m absolutely exhausted. I am so sleepy I can no longer keep my eyes open. I don’t know if it’s the fibromyalgia getting worse or it’s the effects of my new med, Lyrica that I use to treat the aches of fibro.

1 or 2 p.m. I wake up because my personal care attendant arrives. She makes me lunch, does our dishes, runs our errands, helps with laundry, does some general picking up, taking out trash, etc. Recently, I’ve been blessed to have some really good PCAs. They’re sweet ladies that genuinely cares about me and my family. You can tell when someone cares. The one I have now is super sweet. She helps me try and figure out solutions to some of our problems (such as getting help to clean the rest of the house that’s not in her job descriptions, etc). She understands people with autism like no one I’ve ever met before that did not have autism as well. She says her mom is even more experienced. She asks before she touches our stuff! She asks where do I want it, is it okay to move it, etc. She gets the OCD and OCD traits my kids have! 🙂 Really sweet girl.

3:30 p.m.: The kids come home. We do their chore chart stuff (eat afterschool snack, do homework, and then free time.)

5: 00 p.m. Someone cooks supper. Sometimes our PCA has cooked it earlier in the day and we just reheat. Sometimes I cook. Sometimes Jerry cooks. Sometimes T cooks. It just depends on the day. Most days this past week I have been unable to cook, so Jerry and T have been doing the cooking.

6:00 p.m. We eat whatever was cooked by whoever. LOL Jerry starts watching his news programs on MSNBC as well. He periodically lies down and tries to sleep throughout the day and night. He has real trouble sleeping and sleeps about an hour at a time.

7:00 p,m. Clean up starts. The kids clean the front room after the mess they’ve made. Dishes in the sink, trash picked up, toys put away, etc. They also clean their rooms if needed. Boys (jerry and the kids) eat their evening snack (dessertish). Bboy takes a bath and brushes his teeth. He then reads for 30 minutes or so before lights off at 8 p.m.

8:00 p.m.: T starts his evening routine by take his nighttime meds (intuniv and prozac). He then spends time making sure his homework was completed from earlier in the day. He plays some on his DS and/or watches TV until about 8:30. He then picks up his cat(s) Tigger and ScarFace (depends on if both are in the house at bedtime or just one or the other). He goes into his room and reads until lights out at 9 p.m.

If I’ve managed to stay awake during this process, I now take my meds and crash into bed and sleep until about 2 or 3 a.m.

Doesn’t sound like much, huh? And yet, it takes so much for me to do all that and to make sure all that gets done. Sometimes I don’t even do this much. Sometimes I just stay in bed. On and off throughout the day, I’m on Facebook communicating with others in between these activities. Sometimes instead I do some painting. Sometimes instead I do some reading.

I used to do so much with my time. I once was working four jobs! How do I go from working two full time jobs and two part time jobs to just barely being able to stay awake long enough to tuck my kids into bed? How did I go from being able to walk the three miles to work to being able to barely walk to the other side of my house? How did I go from playing hide and seek, tag (“touched ya last”), and board games with my kids, to barely be able to handle having a conversation with them? Fibromyalgia. It stole a lot from it. And that pisses me off. It really does. But more on that in another post. 🙂

0 Responses to “My Day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

These are the types of things I talk about

Read it again?

ipnoid.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,273 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,345 hits

