24
Feb
10

Where I will be using my desk that I win from Office1000.com

This is a post that will explain where and how I will use this beautifully crafted desk being offered by Office1000 in a writing contest!

SafeCo Desk offered as contest prize

http://www.office1000.com is offering this desk if I win!!

This lovely desk to the right is offered as a prize for this writing contest sponsored by Office1000.

I want this desk because I want to use it for a special reason. I am a reporter and will soon be making travel trips to go to the locations of my stories. I do not like laptops. I do not like laptop tables. I like desks. Full-sized desks that have a book shelf underneath to hold my handy reference books, i.e Writer’s Guide 2010, Best Magazine Markets for Freelancers 2010, Thesaurus and Dictionary. Okay, also looks handy for putting my feet up which will be MUCH appreciated!

The fact that it has those four wheels will help as I coast through airports and TSA screenings from job to job. Or I could sit on it and have someone push me from gate to gate.  Don’t worry, it’s a quality product and I’m not that heavy. It can hold up just fine!

It’s long enough for me. I have a system when I write. I like to spread out my papers and use multiple piles of paper. Helps me feel like I’m really doing something that is physically exhausting. I run my fingers through my hair, messing it up… push my glasses to the top of my head… stick various writing utensils in my hair and behind my ears… and make lots of notes on pieces of papers that are in these piles. This desk can obviously hold my piles!

The desk top is REVERSIBLE! Yes, reversible… between mahogany and medium oak. So when I’m writing my fiction work, I can use the mahogany color to help ease that mood of dark, dreary, literary genius. And when I’m writing my journalist pieces, I can use the oak side. All business-nothing-but-the-facts-Sir, please and thank you!

And since I write about special needs kids, there’s bound to be a few around me when I’m writing! This desk has cable management holes! Think of the joy and wonder on those kids’ faces as they explore the holes… sticking their fingers through them and pulling on the cords and unplugging my computer from its power source and making me lose all the work I just did for two hours because I forgot to hit control + s to save! The precious moment of looking down at that innocent face…. as I breathe deeply and restrain myself from yelling. After all, you can’t blame the kids… they’re innocent!

Of course, wherever the place is at any given time, my desk will have a full-size coffee-pot that continuously creates fresh coffee for me. This is important! Without fresh coffee, I cannot have fresh ideas! My ideas would become like the stale, dank, musty odor of retried coffee that’s been microwaved! Egad!

Of course, after the pages are written, I can clear the piles and with my long-hand written manuscript, use that desk to hold my computer whilst I bang away in a furious frenzy on the keyboard and type up what I had previously written. This is the time when the world goes on ignore…. I lose track of what is going on around me. I would not notice that my son has finally mastered the art of lighting matches and is practicing by burning the piles of paper that are at my feet now that I had finished with them. Well, I might if the flames actually touch me. Maybe.

This desk would help my career exponentially in many ways. These are just a few of them!

5 Responses to “Where I will be using my desk that I win from Office1000.com”


  1. 1 emily
    March 7, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Love reading your site, I usually find out something interesting facts.
    Emily R. from Training Huskies

    • April 20, 2010 at 11:27 am

      For some reason your comment originally went to spam but I have rescued it!

      Um, what facts have you found out here? Just curious what touched base and what didn’t, etc.

  2. 3 Kat Cook
    April 4, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Congratulations Heather. You really deserve it. In this time that I have known you, I have really seen how you make a difference in this world. Thanks for sharing stories to create Autism Awareness in this world.

    Keep on writing!!

  3. 4 KIM
    April 4, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    What a well written blog!!! I could picture it all in my head while reading!!! Well deserved Heather!!!!! ❤


Leave a Reply

These are the types of things I talk about

Read it again?

ipnoid.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,273 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,509 hits

