13
Jul
07

To My Daddy…

(this poem was written for a friend of mine… from the viewpoint of her three year old son. She gave the poem to him in his father’s day card.)

My mommy says you’re far away. Maybe I’ll get to see you some day. I have Mommy, and I have you on the phone but still, I feel all alone. Why can’t you tuck me in at night, why put up such a fight? A postcard from you, would be the easiest thing to do and it would mean so much to me. What do you look like? I can’t remember. This really bothers me. Why don’t you want to see me? Was I bad? Was I not what you wanted? Would you prefer a girl? I cry for you in the night but you don’t come to calm me. Why don’t you want me? Why, Daddy, why don’t you love me?

(I’m happy to say that the poem got through to the Dad’s heart and he began to spend time with his son again.)

0 Responses to “To My Daddy…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

These are the types of things I talk about

Read it again?

ipnoid.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,273 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,509 hits

